The Writers Guild Awards Has Some Unexpected Nominees
The Writers Guild Awards Has Some Unexpected Nominees

The Writers Guild of America has announced its gaming nominees for all things script and narrative related in 2012. Well written games with profound and moving narratives or simply well-written scripts are not common-place and games like these are rarer than games with great gameplay.

That said, the 2013 Writers Guild Awards looks to celebrate achievements in writing including in gaming with categories such as Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing. Assassin’s Creed III and Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation lead the nominations alongside some very intriguing nominees.

The full list of nominees is below.

  • 007 Legends, Written By Bruce Feirstein; Activision
  • Assassin’s Creed III, Story By Alex Hutchinson, Corey May, Matt Turner; Multiplayer Story By Richard Farrese, Jeffrey Yohalem; Lead Scriptwriter Corey May; Scriptwriter Nicholas Grimwood, Russell Lees, Matt Turner, Danny Wallace, Ceri Young; Ubisoft
  • Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation, Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft
  • Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two, Writing Consultant Marv Wolfman; Disney Interactive Studios
  • Halo 4, Narrative Design Christopher Schlerf; Microsoft Studios
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss, Written By John Garvin; Sony Computer Entertainment America

I can’t argue with Halo 4 being there but was AC III really an example of storytelling excellence? Perhaps Ubisoft always deserve some kudos for tying their narratives so strongly into the historical setting and period but the latest game fell short of the mark with a narrative that felt disjointed and meandering. I physically shuddered when I read that 007 Legends, one of our worst games of 2012, was amongst the nominees. It baffles me to be honest.

Surely games such as Mass Effect 3 or The Walking Dead or certainly Spec Ops: The Line deserve to be among the nominees. I stand to be corrected but I’m sure the studios which produced those games are all American. Of course, a writer has to be a member of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus for his work to be nominated so perhaps therein lies the catch. Or the guild may have just thrown caution to the wind, yelled carpe diem (read: YOLO) and drawn the names from a hat.

The awards ceremonies will be held on February 17 in New York and LA.


Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment. - Blog Ping-Dienst, Blogmonitor

Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Games Blogs
blog directory